Secure online banking on all devices
Laptop mit S-Protect von Coronic

Hardened browser for all systems

The task of a browser is to open up every single webpage and play every video. That is why a browser is the exact opposite of a safe software program – because it opens up everything! Thanks to the PROTECT Browser, you can work on any PC or mobile device both easily and securely – even if the system is already vulnerable. Malware and hackers don’t stand a chance. Banking transactions and payments remain secure.

PROTECT - Product details


The hardened PROTECT Browser is a real browser: it looks like a normal one, has the same functions and operates just like its insecure counterparts.


Hardened browsers are the most secure way to do online banking. PROTECT has been used by over 170 banks for practically ten years – without a single incident.


Security and speed can go hand in hand. PROTECT Browser systems are just as fast and efficient as Chrome, Firefox, Edge or Safari, for instance.


The PROTECT Browser is light. The engine-free version is 10 to 15 MB. The full version with its own HTML engine is approx. 80 MB.


The PROTECT Browser can monitor online banking, Secoder processes and communicate fully automatically with EBICS systems.

Since 2010

CORONIC has been manufacturing hardened browsers since 2008. In 2010, they were brought to market and today, over 170 banks use PROTECT.

Mobile, Mac, Windows

The PROTECT Browser platform is available for all operating systems: Windows, Macintosh, Linux, iOS and Android.

Market leader

With the hardened PROTECT Browser, CORONIC has become the market leader in browser hardening, Trojan protection and the securing of online banking processes.

Not only a browser

PROTECT allows every bank / user to produce a browser with different technology and varying protection mechanisms. This means that it provides protection against hacking.


By means of an Admin server that can support multiple clients, individual whitelists for different banks or websites can be managed, controlled and configured.

Own engine

The Browser has its own HTML rendering engine based on Chrome Blink and operates in exactly the same manner on many operating systems, with the same layout, which makes testing at the time of roll-out easier.

Authorisation and certificates

The PROTECT Browser can be given individual certificates, in order to manage the identification of users, logins and authentication mechanisms.

Optional server update

An optional PROTECT server can be implemented for even more security, update performance and additional business functions (statistics, logging, certificate management...).

Server recognition

The PROTECT Browser can safely recognise bank servers thanks to their certificates. This prevents the manipulation of the internet connection to lead users to fraudulent bank servers.

Client recognition

The bank server is clearly able to recognise a PROTECT client. This means that exchanging the client is not an opening for an attack anymore. In the case of DoS attacks on the server's web interface, PROTECT Clients can continue working.


PROTECT Browser systems can be tailored to banks individually. Own name, own interface, own functions – no problem at all.


Client testimonials

“Thanks to the hardened VR-Protect Browser, we are truly unique in the field of online banking security. Today, it is important to guarantee our clients can access fully secure online banking. It is also in line with our position as a partner for all kinds of financial affairs. We highly and expressly recommend our clients use VR-Protect!“

Dr. Caroline Toffel

Board Member of the Kieler Volksbank eG

PROTECT – Advantages for the bank

Cut document-processing costs

To achieve this aim, offline clients must become online clients. The typical fears of offline bank clients can easily be deflected thanks to the hardened PROTECT browser. Many institutions reduced their expenditure related to bank documents by over 25% last year, thanks to PROTECT. Depending on the size of the bank, this sometimes means several 100,000 Euro a year!

Removal of ATMs

A bank clerk will inform the ATM users of this fact. They will gladly migrate to an online account thanks to the reassurance provided by the hardened PROTECT browser and an anti-phishing guarantee. This is how a bank can eliminate several ATMs and save up to 50,000 Euros per machine a year!

Increase in online banking

A bank wants to increase the number of its online users and reduce phishing risks as well. To do so, it provides all its clients with the hardened PROTECT browser for Windows, iPhone and Android. The clients’ trust in online banking increases and phishing attacks drop. Many banks charge a fee for this additional security guarantee.

Increase profit

Many offline clients are only offline because they fear they will be robbed when banking online. They know that online banking is better, faster and more convenient but they are scared. This fear can be eliminated thanks to the hardened PROTECT browser. Document-processing costs will go down, fearful clients will go online and will even be willing to pay one to two Euros a month for the security guarantee provided by an account with PROTECT.

Preventing phishing

Applications that are part of a banking or transaction process will eventually be targeted by cybercriminals – this cannot be avoided. Thanks to the hardened PROTECT apps, you can secure your transactions against such attacks. Beginning in 2010, PROTECT is now used by over 250 banks – and there has been no phishing incident!

Reduce overdraft costs

Every TV, holiday or car nowadays goes beyond people’s budget. The IT Support team can increase users’ overdraft and then reduce it again later. This task can represent up to one full-time job, even for smaller banks. With PROTECT, a high overdraft is not an issue. The discussions do not have to take place with staff anymore, and this saves on personnel expenditure.

Marketing & Sales

Today, a regional bank will have 50% online clients and 50% offline clients. Offline clients do not remain offline because they do not like computers. Indeed, they shop online, have a smartphone and tablet computer – but fear online banking. PROTECT wipes away these clients’ worries and is therefore the ideal attractive selling point for the Marketing and Sales department to get new clients.

Strengthen members

Many GENO banks want to strengthen their cooperatives’ members. Other regional banks want to reinforce their relationship with their customers too. To do so, added value and bonus programmes must be proposed. What could work better than the fully secure online banking offer with PROTECT and its anti-phishing guarantee? Clients know how much this is worth!

CORONIC in den Medien
Click on the image to read the article.

PROTECT in the media

“The NSA has developed a virus-protected browser exclusively for the US President. CORONIC, the security specialist from Kiel, Germany, has developed a secure browser – for everyone.”

Kieler Nachrichten
Kieler Nachrichten

Article published on 20 February 2009

Banks use PROTECT
Users in Germany
Transfers per month

Client testimonials

“Following a goal-orientated and solution-based approach, in 2011, CORONIC created a product based on the VISOR Computercheck which has been used by our clients ever since: the PostFinance Browsercheck. It has received excellent feedback, is used regularly and turns our clients’ positive experiences into an advert for our services. CORONIC has impressed us especially on the basis of its agility, flexibility and the adaptation of its basic product to our specific needs: in an open-minded fashion, CORONIC has successfully met challenges such as supporting multiple languages, breaking down barriers and the consideration of the technical characteristics of our IT environment.”

Michael Thomalla

Security Officer, PostFinance AG, Bern, Switzerland

SecureBrowser PostFinance CORONIC
Browser VR-Protect

Secure browser, secure banking

A modern security concept must be based on the browser. If a Trojan attack on the browser is prevented, then all online transactions are protected from manipulation: indeed, the security of all online transactions depends on the security of the browser it takes place on. PROTECT monitors and controls browser and Windows functions, as well as all pages that appear (URL, IP addresses and ports, SSL certificates). PROTECT even shields systems against the latest generation of Trojans, because all malware functions are supressed in the browser by means of tried and tested anti-hooking and anti-cracking mechanisms. Today, PROTECT is used by over 170 banks, rendering them immune to attacks: not a single one since 2010!

PROTECT

Sicheres Online-Banking auf allen Endgeräten
Laptop mit S-Protect von Coronic

Gehärteter Browser für alle Systeme

Die Aufgabe eines Browsers ist es, jede Internetseite anzuzeigen und jedes Video abzuspielen. Damit ist ein Browser das genaue Gegenteil einer sicheren Software, denn er erlaubt alles. Mit dem gehärteten PROTECT Browser lässt sich auf jedem PC und jedem mobilen Gerät sicher und einfach arbeiten – auch wenn das System bereits kompromittiert ist. Schadsoftware und Hacker haben keine Chance. Banking und Payment bleiben sicher.

PROTECT in den Medien

Die Fiducia & GAD IT AG wirbt für das Produkt VR-Protect in einem aktuellen Video: Sicherheit im Internet-Zahlungsverkehr und beim Online-Banking scheint eine komplizierte Sache zu sein. Doch mit VR-Protect wird das Leben einfach. Der gehärtete Browser aus dem Hause CORONIC schützt den ganzen Zahlungsverkehr – auch auf bereits verseuchten IT-Systemen.

„VR-Protect“

Bei der Fiducia & GAD IT AG

Coronic-Kunden-fiducia-gad-logo-groß

PROTECT - Produktdetails

Einfach

Der gehärtete PROTECT Browser ist ein echter Browser: Sieht genauso aus, hat die gleichen Funktionen und funktioniert wie seine unsicheren Kollegen.

Sicher

Gehärtete Browser sind die sicherste Variante, um Online-Banking zu machen. PROTECT wird von über 170 Banken seit fast zehn Jahren genutzt - ohne einen einzigen Schadensfall.

Schnell

Sicherheit und Geschwindigkeit stehen sich nicht entgegen. PROTECT Browsersysteme sind genauso performant und leistungsfähig wie die klassischen Browser Chrome, Firefox, Edge oder Safari.

Klein

Der PROTECT Browser zeichnet sich durch geringes Dateivolumen aus. Die Starter-Version kommt mit 7 MB Größe aus. Die Vollversion mit eigener HTML-Engine mit 90 MB

Flexibel

PROTECT Browser können Online-Banking, Secoder ansteuern und vollautomatisch mit EBICS-Systemen kommunizieren.

Seit 2010 aktiv

CORONIC stellt seit 2008 gehärtete Browser her. Seit 2010 sind diese am Markt vertreten – heute bei ca. 170 Banken.

Mobil, Mac, Windows

Die PROTECT Browserplattform ist für alle Betriebssysteme verfügbar: Windows, Macintosh, Linux, iOS und Android.

Marktführer

Mit dem gehärteten PROTECT Browser ist CORONIC Marktführer im Segment Browserhärtung, Trojanerabwehr und Sicherung von Online-Banking-Prozessen.

Nicht nur ein Browser

PROTECT erlaubt es, für jede Bank/Nutzer einen technisch unterschiedlichen Browser mit variierenden Schutzfunktionen herzustellen – Segmentierung bedeutet Hacking-Schutz.

Whitelisting

Über einen mandantenfähigen Admin-Server lassen sich individuelle Whitelists von einzelnen Banken oder Internetseiten verwalten, steuern und konfigurieren.

Eigene Engine

Der Browser ist mit einer eigenen HTML-Rendering-Engine auf Basis von Chrome Blink ausgestattet und arbeitet so auf vielen Betriebssystemen mit identischer Darstellung, was auch das Testing beim Roll-Out vereinfacht.

Autorisierung & Zertifikate

Der PROTECT Browser kann mit individuellen Zertifikaten ausgestattet werden, um so die Identifizierung von Nutzer-, Login- und Freigabe-Mechanismen zu steuern.

Update-Server optional

Ein optionaler PROTECT Server kann für noch mehr Sicherheit, Update-Performance und zusätzliche Businessfunktionen eingesetzt werden (Statistik, Logging, Zertifikatssteuerung, …)

Server Erkennung

Der PROTECT Browser kann anhand von Zertifikaten den Bankserver sicher erkennen. Das verhindert die Manipulation der Internetverbindung hin zu gefälschten Bank-Servern.

Client Erkennung

Der Bank-Server kann den PROTECT Client eindeutig erkennen. So ist das Austauschen des Clients kein Angriffsszenario mehr. Bei DoS-Angriffen auf die Web-Schnittstelle des Servers können PROTECT Clients weiter arbeiten.

Eigenes GUI

PROTECT Browsersysteme können Banken-individuell angepasst werden. Eigener Name, eigene Oberfläche, eigene Funktionen - alles kein Problem.

Coronic-produkt-vr-protect-kieler-volksbank

Das sagen unsere Kunden

„Mit dem gehärteten Browser VR-Protect verfügen wir über ein echtes Alleinstellungsmerkmal in puncto Sicherheit im Online-Banking. Unseren Kunden ein absolut sicheres Online-Banking garantieren zu können, ist in der heutigen Zeit ein echter Mehrwert – und passt zu unserer Positionierung als Partner in allen finanziellen Angelegenheiten. Wir empfehlen unseren Kunden die Nutzung von VR-Protect ausdrücklich!“

Coronic-Kunde-VR_Logo_v2
Dr. Caroline Toffel

Mitglied des Vorstandes der Kieler Volksbank eG

PROTECT - Vorteile für die Bank

Belegkosten senken

Dazu müssen Offline-Kunden zu Online-Kunden werden. Die typischen Sicherheitsbedenken der Offliner können mit dem gehärteten PROTECT Browser leicht entkräftet werden. Viele Institute haben mit PROTECT bereits im ersten Jahr die Belegkosten um über 25 % reduziert: Einsparpotenzial, je nach Bankengröße, mehrere 100.000 € pro Jahr.

SB-Automaten abschaffen

Dazu werden die Nutzer dieser einzelnen Automaten direkt von einem Bankmitarbeiter angesprochen. Sie wechseln gerne in ein sicheres Online-Konto mit gehärtetem PROTECT Browser und Anti-Phishing-Garantie. So können diverse SB-Automaten schnell abgeschaltet werden: Kostenersparnis bis 50.000 € pro Automat und Jahr.

Online-Quote steigern

Eine Bank will ihre Online-Quote steigern und gleichzeitig das Phishing-Risiko senken. Dazu wird an alle Kunden der gehärtete PROTECT Browser für Windows, iPhone und Android verteilt. Das Vertrauen der Kunden in das Online-Banking steigt und die Phishing-Quote sinkt. Viele Banken verbinden diese Sicherheit mit einem Aufpreis zum Kontomodell.

Erlöse steigern

Viele Offline-Kunden sind nur deshalb offline, weil sie Angst haben beim Online-Banking beklaut zu werden. Sie wissen genau, dass das Online-Banking besser, schneller und bequemer ist - haben aber Angst. Diese Angst kann ihnen der gehärtete Browser nehmen. Die Belegkosten sinken, die Ängstlichen gehen online und sind sogar bereit für diese Sicherheitsgarantie ein bis zwei Euro pro Monat im Kontomodell zu bezahlen.

Phishing vermeiden

Anwendungen, die Teil des Bankings oder eines Transaktions-Vorgangs sind, werden früher oder später von Internet-Kriminellen angegriffen. Mit gehärteten PROTECT-Apps sichern Banken ihre Verfahren gegen solche Angriffe. Seit 2010 ist PROTECT bei über 250 Banken im Einsatz - ohne einen einzigen Phishig-Fall.

Limitkosten reduzieren

Jeder Fernseher, jede Urlaubsreise und jeder PKW übersteigt heute das Standardlimit. Der IT-Support setzt die Limite erst rauf und danach wieder runter. Das erzeugt auch bei kleineren Banken einen Aufwand von bis zu einer Vollzeitstelle. Mit PROTECT ist ein hohes Limit kein Problem. Die Limit Gespräche bleiben aus, die Personalkosten sind gespart.

Marketing & Vertrieb

Eine Regionalbank hat heute 50 % Online-Kunden und 50 % Offline-Kunden. Diese Offliner sind jedoch keine IT-Verweigerer. Sie machen Online-Shopping, haben Smartphone und Tablet - nur vor dem Banking haben sie Angst. PROTECT nimmt den Kunden diese Sorge und ist daher das ideale Zugpferd für die Neukundengewinnung in Marketing und Vertrieb.

Mitglieder stärken

Viele GENO-Banken wollen ihre Mitglieder stärken. Andere Regionalbanken ihre Kundenbeziehung. Dafür braucht es gute Mehrwert- und Bonusprogramme. Was könnte besser passen als absolut sicheres Online-Banking mit PROTECT und die zugehörige Anti-Phishing-Garantie? Ein Mehrwert, den Kunden schätzen.

Sicherer Browser im Video

Sicheres Online-Banking, auch auf bereits infizierten IT System, so sieht es der Kunde. Kosten sparen, Erlöse steigern und die Onlinequote verbessern, so sieht es die Bank.

Belegkosten sparen mit PROTECT

Kurzvideo der CORONIC GmbH

coronic-Logo-kreis-v2
Banken nutzen PROTECT
3.
Nutzer in Deutschland
11.
Überweisungen im Monat

PROTECT in den Medien

„Einen virensicheren Internet-Browser exklusiv für den US-Präsidenten entwickelte der amerikanische Geheimdienst NSA. Das Kieler Unternehmen CORONIC bietet auch einen sicheren Browser an – für jedermann.“

Kieler Nachrichten

Zeitungsartikel vom 20. Februar 2009

Kieler Nachrichten
Coronic-in-den-Medien-Tablet
Auf Bild klicken, um Artikel zu lesen

Sicherer Browser, sicheres Banking

Eine moderne Sicherheitskonzeption muss direkt beim Browser ansetzen. Wird der Zugriff der Trojaner auf den Internetbrowser verhindert, können alle dahinter ablaufenden Online-Geschäftsprozesse nicht mehr manipuliert werden, denn jeder Online-Geschäftsprozess ist nur so sicher, wie der Browser mit dem er durchlaufen wird. PROTECT kontrolliert Browser- und Windowsfunktionen sowie alle Seitenaufrufe (URL, IP-Adresse und Port, SSL-Zertifikat). Die Sicherheit ist auch bei neuen Trojaner-Generationen gegeben, da alle Schädlingsfunktionen im Browser durch geprüfte Anti-Hooking- und Anti-Cracking-Mechanismen unterdrückt werden. PROTECT ist seit 2010 bei heute über 170 Banken im Einsatz – es gibt keinen einzigen Schadensfall.