AUT

Banking without PINs and TANs

Banking without PINs and TANs thanks to indirect biometrics

Your own fingerprints, face, or the sound of your voice have always been characteristics of your unique identity. Thanks to AUT (CORONIC Authentication Technology), these biometric characteristics can be used for banking – in a browser, app or PC client. The biometric criteria will only be processed indirectly. They do not leave the end client’s smartphone and can therefore be used for authentication and authorization processes in line with BaFin and PSD2. The knowledge and possession factors can be swapped for various biometric characteristics in the banking process. Logins and transfers can be made without PINs, TANs and – if you want – without a chip card.

AUT – Product details re. biometrics banking

Easy integration

Easy integration into the existing product environment on the bank's and client's side. AUT Lib for integration into the existing banking clients and apps. AUT server as an ID broker in one's own CAS with a direct interface in the existing banking system.

Connection to the CAS system

The AUT server has an interface with the central authorization systems of European banks (CAS). Support is possible for internal bank interfaces, as well as Access to Account (XS2A).

Modern & modular

The AUT products are characterized by their modern, modular and scalable architecture. They are easy to adapt to one's own interfaces and requirements. The AUT Lib is available for iOS and Android. The server components can run in any data center as a JEE web application.

Fraud Protection

AUT provides data to fight fraud. Failed attempts, the number of repetitions, or unusual speed of use is monitored and the data is transmitted to the banking system.

In line with applicable regulations

The regulations permit banks to use their clients' biometric data for authentication processes. This happens by means of indirect biometrics on users' smartphones. The biometric characteristics are related to the device, client and account in an encrypted format. All AUT processes are in line with the regulations.

Secure and hardened

The AUT components comprise of hardened software. CORONIC has been hardening software products for over ten years for transactions in online payment and banking processes. Over 200 banks in Germany and Switzerland use hardened CORONIC products.

Data protection

All IT components related to the users are run exclusively on and via German servers, or directly in the respective banks' servers. The biometric data of the clients do not leave their smartphones – they are only tested indirectly and locally.

Selection of ID functions

The AUT Lib can bundle several ID functions. This means that the bank client can choose whether he/she wants TouchID, FaceID, hardware integration, PIN-TAN, tokens or passwords for his/her authentication.

5.135. 5000
Smartphones across the world
900.
Smartphones with fingerprint recognition
60.
Smartphones with facial recognition

AUT - Advantages of biometrics banking

Improving usability

For many years now, we have been dealing with complicated banking and transfer processes. If a client expresses the wish to make a transfer, he/she then receives a TAN, has to type it in and confirm it all again. The use of additional hardware makes the process more secure but no easier. The use of one's fingerprint or facial recognition are well-known, fast and approved authentication systems. They can complete complex banking processes, speed them up and even replace whole segments thereof. With biometrics, everything is more fluid, easier, faster and cheaper.

Transfers without TANs

For transfers too, just as with logins, a second factor is required – but this time, in a separate app. This means that two different applications must be used (usually a banking app and a push app). These cannot communicate with each other, so a TAN from the first app is used to identify the user in the second. If the AUT Lib is integrated into the existing push app, then the latter can use the biometric characteristic as the second factor for the transfer authorization – with a simple fingerprint.

PSD2 implementation

The European Union's Payment Service Directive 2 (PSD2) allows biometric factors to be used for authentication and authorization processes in banking. Biometric processes are much easier to use than the traditional PIN/TAN and chip card processes. The client can log in with his/her fingerprint or make a transfer by using facial recognition. Both are easy and secure. Moreover, the technical processes applied by AUT products are in line with the applicable regulatory provisions of Germany's supervisory authority for financial services.

Bank login without using TANs

The PSD2 sets the use of a second factor forth for access to balances. Usually, this involves copying a TAN. A hardware-installed banking app with indirect biometrics can fully replace the TAN system. The integration of biometric functions into the existing banking app and system is very easy, thanks to the AUT Lib and the light AUT Server War File. The library takes over the hardware connection and the secure, encrypted inclusion of biometric characteristics on the smartphone. This means that the second factor can then consist of biometrics and hardware integration instead of a TAN for the login process – without any push app.

Save costs with the OneID app

Online banking costs are high due to bank chip cards with TAN applications, TAN generators and photo or QR readers. However it is done, the end client needs to use expensive and complicated hardware components, as well as heavy processes such as PINs and TANS – with which it is easy to make a mistake. A central ID app with biometric authorization processes is only software, however. It can be used for all banking and login processes and offers interfaces with the central authorization systems and bank systems. This central ID and authentication solution can be applied to all client products and banking processes. The login and transfer processes needn't be integrated several times into every client and app. Instead, they are automatically and centrally available for all bank applications.

Browser banking without PINs and TANs

Browser banking on smartphones or desktops was the most user-friendly form of online banking for years. Nowadays, however, to look at one's balance, a TAN needs to be entered. This is not the case if one uses a (hardened) bank browser. Thanks to the hardware connection or the use of biometric sensors (on the laptop, tablet computer or external smartphone), users can proceed to uncomplicated, user-friendly two-factor authentication.

Coronic-WTSH-Logo-v2

Due to its highly innovative nature, the PROTECT security technology been granted the support of the WTSH (Body for Economic Development and Technology Transfer) by means of funds from the federal state of Schleswig-Holstein.

CORONIC-AUT-APP

The CORONIC ID App can authenticate everyone

“Who am I?” That is the question! Philosophers could hardly answer it – but now there is an answer in the case of online payment transactions: legal regulations such as the Payment Service Directive 2 (PSD2) have set forth what biometric characteristics are and who can use them, in order to do online banking, for instance. One can be authenticated through facial recognition, voice recognition, a fingerprint, a proven piece of hardware or even with a password or PIN. Unfortunately, banks and financial service providers have their own ideas as to how these biometric characteristics should be applied to their online transactions. With the CORONIC ID App, everything is easier: traditional processes such as the use of PINs, TANs, passwords, cards and signatures can be integrated, as well as push messages or real biometric authentication characteristics. An ID app as universal proof of identity for all payment processes and logins – everywhere, anytime.

AUT

Banking ohne PIN & TAN

Banking ohne PIN und TAN dank Mittelbarer Biometrie

Der eigene Fingerabdruck, das eigene Gesicht oder der Klang der eigenen Stimme waren schon immer Merkmale der persönlichen Identität eines jeden Menschen. Mit Hilfe von AUT (CORONIC Authentifizierungstechnologie) lassen sich diese biometrischen Merkmale für das Banking nutzen – egal ob in Browser, App oder PC-Client. Dabei werden die biometrischen Merkmale nur mittelbar verarbeitet. Sie verlassen also nicht das Smartphone des Endkunden und können so BaFin- und PSD2- konform für Authentifizierungs- und Autorisierungsprozesse eingesetzt werden. Damit lassen sich die Faktoren Wissen und Besitz durch verschiedene biometrische Merkmale im Bankprozess austauschen. Login und Überweisung ohne PIN, ohne TAN und – falls gewünscht – auch ganz ohne Chipkarte werden so möglich.

AUT – Produktdetails zum Biometrie-Banking

Einfache Integration

Einfache Integration in die bestehende Produktlandschaft der Bank auf Client- und Serverseite. AUT-Lib zur Integration in bestehende Banking-Clients und Apps. AUT-Server als ID-Broker vor dem eigenen CAS oder mit direkter Schnittstelle ins bestehende Banksystem.

Anbindung an CAS-System

Der AUT-Server verfügt über eine Schnittstelle für die zentralen Autorisierungssysteme von europäischen Banken (CAS). Unterstützung für die internen Bankschnittstellen sowie Access to Account (XS2A) ist möglich.

Modern & modular

Die AUT-Produkte zeichnen sich durch eine moderne, modulare und skalierbare Architektur aus. Sie sind leicht an die eigenen Schnittstellen und Anforderungen anpassbar. Die AUT-Lib ist für iOS und Android verfügbar. Die Serverkomponente als JEE Web-Applikation in jedem Rechenzentrum lauffähig.

Fraud Protection

AUT liefert Daten zur Unterstützung bei der Fraud Protection. So lassen sich Fehlversuche, Zahl der Wiederholungen oder ungewöhnliche Geschwindigkeiten bei der Benutzung überwachen und an das Banksystem übermitteln.

Regulatorik-konform

Die Regulatorik sieht vor, dass Banken die biometrischen Daten ihrer Kunden für Authentifizierungsprozesse verwenden dürfen. Dies geschieht mithilfe Mittelbarer Biometrie auf dem Smartgerät des Nutzers. Die biometrischen Merkmale sind kryptografisch an Gerät, Kunde und Konto gebunden. Alle AUT-Prozesse und -Verfahren sind regulatorisch geprüft.

Sicher & gehärtet

Die AUT-Komponenten bestehen aus gehärteter Software. CORONIC härtet seit über 10 Jahren Softwareprodukte für Transaktionsprozesse im Online-Payment und -Banking. Über 200 Banken in Deutschland und der Schweiz setzen gehärtete CORONIC Produkte ein.

Datenschutz

Alle IT-Komponenten mit Personenbezug laufen ausschließlich auf deutschen Servern oder wahlweise direkt im Rechenzentrum der Bank. Die biometrischen Daten der Kunden verlassen nicht die Smartgeräte der Kunden, sie werden nur mittelbar und lokal geprüft.

Auswahl von ID-Funktionen

Die AUT-Lib kann mehrere ID-Funktionen für den Nutzer bündeln. So kann der Bankkunde auswählen, ob er TouchID, FaceID, Hardwarebindung, PIN-TAN oder aber Tokens und Kennwörter zu seiner Authentifizierung verwenden will.

5.135. 5000
Smartphones weltweit
900.
Smartphones mit Fingerprint
60.
Smartphones mit FaceID

AUT – Vorteile beim Biometrie-Banking

Usability verbessern

Seit vielen Jahren haben wir uns an komplizierte Bankprozesse und Überweisungsvorgänge gewöhnt. Man gibt den Überweisungswunsch an, bekommt eine TAN zurück, muss diese abtippen und alles erneut bestätigen. Die Verwendung von zusätzlicher Hardware macht die Sache sicherer, aber nicht wirklich einfacher. Der Fingerabdruck und die Gesichtserkennung sind auf Smartgeräten bekannte, schnelle und akzeptierte Authentifizierungsformen. Sie können komplexe Bankprozesse ergänzen, beschleunigen und sogar Teile davon komplett ersetzen. Alles geht mit Biometrie bequemer, einfacher, schneller und billiger.

Überweisen ohne TAN

Auch bei Überweisungen wird, wie beim Login, ein zweiter Faktor benötigt, diesmal jedoch in einer getrennten App. Das erfordert den Einsatz von zwei unterschiedlichen Anwendungen (meist Banking-App und Push-App). Da diese nicht miteinander kommunizieren dürfen, wird die TAN von der einen Anwendung an die andere übergeben. Integriert man die AUT-Lib in die bereits bestehende Push-Anwendung, kann diese als zweiten Faktor das biometrische Merkmal zur Überweisungs-Autorisierung anbieten - ganz bequem per Fingerprint.

PSD2 umsetzen

Die Payment Service Directive 2 (PSD2) der Europäischen Union erlaubt biometrische Faktoren für Authentifizierungs- und Autorisierungsprozesse im Banking. Biometrische Verfahren sind deutlich komfortabler als die klassischen PIN/TAN- und Chipkarten-Prozesse. Der Kunde „meldet sich mit Fingerabdruck an“ oder „überweist mit seinem Gesicht“. Beides ist bequem, sicher und bezüglich der technischen Abläufe der AUT-Produkte konform zu den geltenden regulatorischen Bestimmungen der Bundesaufsicht für Finanzdienstleistungen.

Bank-Login ohne TAN

Die PSD2 sieht beim Zugriff auf Umsätze einen zweiten Faktor vor, was zumeist das Abtippen einer TAN bedeutet. Eine hardwaregebundene Banking-App mit Mittelbarer Biometrie kann die TAN vollständig ersetzen. Die Integration der Biometrie-Funktionen in die bestehende Banking-App und das Banksystem erfolgt sehr einfach mit Hilfe der AUT-Lib und der leichtgewichtigen AUT-Server-War-Datei. Dabei sorgt die Bibliothek sowohl für die Hardwarebindung als auch für die kryptografisch sichere Einbindung des biometrischen Merkmals auf dem Smartphone. Als zweiter Faktor kann so Biometrie und Hardwarebindung statt einer TAN für den Login-Prozess verwendet werden – ganz ohne zusätzliche Push-App.

Kosten sparen mit der OneID-App

Das teure am Online-Banking ist die Ausstattung der Banken-Chipkarte mit der TAN-Anwendung, der TAN-Generator sowie die Kosten für den Foto- oder QR-Leser. Wie auch immer man es macht, der Endkunde braucht teure und komplizierte Hardwarekomponenten oder aber umständliche und fehlerintensive Verfahren wie PIN & TAN. Eine zentrale ID-App mit biometrischen Freigabeprozessen ist jedoch „nur“ eine Software. Sie kann für alle Bank- und Login-Prozesse genutzt werden und bietet Schnittstellen zum zentralen Autorisierungssystem und zum Banksystem. Diese zentrale ID- und Authentifizierungslösung können alle Kundenprodukte und Bankprozesse nutzen. Die Login- und Überweisungsprozesse müssen dann nicht mehrfach in jedem Client und jeder App nachgebaut werden, sondern liegen automatisch und zentral für alle Bankanwendungen vor.

Browser-Banking ohne PIN & TAN

Browser-Banking auf dem Smartphone oder dem Desktop-PC galt jahrelang als bequemste Form des Online-Bankings. Jetzt muss auch schon für den Blick auf die Umsätze eine TAN eingegeben werden. Nicht jedoch, wenn man den eigenen (gehärteten) Browser einer Bank benutzt. Dieser kann durch Hardwarebindung oder Nutzung von Biometrie-Sensoren (an Laptop, Tablet oder externem Smartphone) für ein unkompliziertes und benutzerfreundliches Zwei-Faktor-Login aufgerüstet werden.

Coronic-WTSH-Logo-v2

Die PROTECT Sicherheits-Technologie wurde aufgrund ihrer hohen Innovationskraft mit Beteiligung der Wirtschaftsförderungs- und Technologietransfer Gesellschaft mbH (WTSH) durch Geldmittel des Landes Schleswig-Holstein gefördert.

CORONIC-AUT-APP

Die ID-App von CORONIC authentifiziert „alles und jeden“

„Wer bin ich?“ ist die wohl älteste Frage der Menschheit. Was für Philosophen ein kaum lösbares Problem darstellt, ist für Zahlungsverkehr im Internet ganz klar geregelt: Gesetzliche Normen, wie die Payment Service Directive 2 (PSD2) legen fest, was ein biometrisches Merkmal ist und wer der Mensch ist, der es verwenden darf, zum Beispiel um Online-Banking zu machen. Authentifizieren kann man sich mit seinem Gesicht, seiner Stimme, seinem Fingerabdruck, einer nachweislich im eigenen Besitz befindlichen Hardware oder aber auch mit einem Kennwort oder einer PIN. Leider haben jede Bank und jeder Finanzdienstleister heute ihre ganz eigene Vorstellung davon, was sie von all diesen Merkmalen für ihre Online-Transaktion verwenden sollen. Mit der CORONIC ID-App wird alles einfacher: Klassische Verfahren wie PIN, TAN, Kennwort, Karte und Unterschrift lassen sich genauso integrieren wie Push-Nachrichten oder echte biometrische Authentifizierungs-Merkmale. Eine ID-App als universeller Identitätsnachweis für alle Zahlungsverkehrsvorgänge und Anmeldeprozesse in der Welt, die eindeutig klärt, wer ich bin.